That last phone conversation

I met my friend through my husband. She was so down-to-earth and real and honest. A ball of energy but not in some weird, hyperactive way. More in a radioactive way. Electrons would literally spin from the many orbitals surrounding her and enter yours. Theoretically, the addition of electrons should impact you negatively. No, the transfer was always positive and you would be a better person because of it.

That last phone conversation took place about 6 weeks ago. She was sitting in my husband’s office at the funeral home. Not sure what they were discussing but my husband called me at home and said she needed to speak to me. The next thing I heard:

What’s wrong with your husband?

I thought to myself:

Hmmm. Where’s that itemized list?

She was mad because my husband NEVER takes time off. I had nagged him for years and finally just let it go. (He’s a grown man, can make his own decisions, blah, blah, blah.) She had no idea and was fussing electrons a-flying. At one point she actually said:

Life is short.

Could not ever imagine that 6 weeks later, she would not be here. The words of our last phone conversation play over and over in my brain. I hear the lesson and I am a better person because of it. Life is short.

Posted in Death, In my brain, Life, Mind, Mind & Spirit, Mortality, Personal, Spirit. Comments Off on That last phone conversation
