Please, DON’T pass the chips

As I was tweaking the site on yesterday, I listened to “The News Hour with Jim Lehrer” (my favorite news program). That’s my thing now. Basically use the television as a radio while I’m on my computer. Anyway, I was following this story about radio frequency identification (RFID). Now, I dig gizmos just as much as the next person so I was thinking this is pretty nifty. It will replace barcodes. You can even use it in ID bracelets and tags. Great. How convenient. Made complete sense up until…

You want to implant this thing under people’s skin? What? Huh? You’ve got to be kidding. I don’t care that it’s only the size of a large grain of rice. Still not cool. External tagging is a definite possibility (although some disturbing privacy issues are raised). Having the chip reside inside of me – um, no.

I am such a big fan of the future. I prattle endlessly about Star Trek (the original) and the concept of transporters. Solution must be just around the corner. So, I’ll pass on this implanted chip thing and gladly tell scientists to work on giving me the ability to travel to the other side of the world in a matter of seconds. You know, important stuff.

Read the transcript of this News Hour Science & Technology story:
New Identification Technology Raises Concerns over Privacy

Posted in Eclectic, Geek, In my brain, Mind, Personal, Science, Technology. Comments Off on Please, DON’T pass the chips
