Still learning from my Dad

Everyone around me knows I am a Daddy’s girl from way back. Although I recently turned 40, when I am near my father, I regress to about the age of 10. Love my Mom but I simply adore “dear old Dad”.

I mentioned in a previous post about an opportunity that ended abruptly. That was last Monday. I really needed to talk to a reasonable person so I whipped out my cell phone. Couldn’t reach my husband. The next number I dialed was to my parent’s house. I could always find a rational person there. Thought I would reach my sister to have one of those “Girl, let me tell you” sessions. Instead, my father answered in his usual calm, soothing voice.

“Hi, Daddy! I’m fine. Just needed to hear from someone sane.” I sounded just like a little girl. Had to adjust down about an octave for the remainder of the conversation. Told him what was going on and that I was learning a lesson on how to label success. It really wasn’t all about degrees and titles. I ended by telling him that the older I get, the more I appreciate the decisions he made in his life. I considered him to be a true success!

So, on this Father’s Day, I’ll pause and say thanks. Dad, I appreciate you being such a definitive example of spirituality. Thank you for humbly sharing your love, peace, and hope with everyone. We happily reciprocate.

2 Responses to “Still learning from my Dad”

  1. hamza Says:

    me too still learning 🙂

  2. eclecticgeek Says:

    Hi Hamza,

    Sorry I took so long to reply. Trying to get the other blog caught up. Thanks for visiting. Hopefully, I’ll have more up when you stop by again. 🙂


Comments are closed.

